top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekanisha jhaveri

Here’s to new beginnings!

As beautifully stated by Plato - “The beginning is the most important part of the work.” Similarly, the initial days after moving to the United Kingdom are very much important for me as I got to learn so many things on my own. Those initial days were like the launch of a rocket towards the sky full of dreams.


Before the beginning:

Since 2015 or maybe before that I always had this interest in getting global exposure and developing my career through it. Since then, knowingly and unknowingly, I was preparing myself for that day of flying out of the country all alone. Talking with my extended family in USA and Canada and learning about their struggles and lifestyle out of India gave me the zoomed-out picture of an independent life on an international border. Dwelling myself into the hard work and multi-tasking with a lot of other interests made me bold and outgoing to adjust to a challenging environment. After completing my Bachelor’s in Communication (Graphic) Design in 2020, I started working as a Visual Communication Designer in PulsAero Agency, Ahmedabad and along with that, I started preparing to apply at different universities in the UK. All these procedures towards landing in the UK started with lots of research, analysis, financial planning, sleepless nights and the most important thing is to have faithful patience even when things are not going right.


In meantime, I didn’t even realize until I came here that a “Strong Mindset” is the key to working on anything to lead your life. Even though there were a lot of financial troubles that I and my family went through before I came to the UK, at that time two things that kept me going are that my inner voice gave the needed strength to my brain and my crystal clear passion towards my development.


Landing to fly:

Finally, on the 10th of September, 2021; I landed in the UK with a shock of a big immigration queue for 2-3 hours. However, a ride in Mercedes V class to Epsom compensated my first day in the UK, this was my first time ever outside India. Since day 1, there are so many small to big things that I have learned:

  1. Adjusting to a new climate and starting with some basic shopping for your new accommodation.

  2. Understanding currency and trying to analyze what’s expensive and reasonable in pounds to maintain the monthly financial budget.

  3. Registering for different procedures like GP registration, opening up a new bank account, getting a rail/oyster card, request for legal documents, new phone number, etc.

  4. Exploring the travel system and different ways of public transportation. It took me 2-3 rides and then I got a hold of it. Thanks to my friend Sachi Chaudhary whose assistance helped me.

  5. One of my best learning is to meet and greet so many new interesting people from across the globe. Gaining knowledge about their culture and then sharing it with them helped me to broaden my horizon to accept the diversity.

  6. Learning different languages made me realize that everybody is so unique and vibrant.

  7. Initial days at UCA were really amazing and happening, fresher’s and induction week was like partying and learning at the same time. Explored different parts of the UCA and felt creatively inspired.

  8. Getting to know your subject leader and tutors whilst attending their insightful lectures/workshops was like dwelling into the MA level of education with lots of enthusiasm.

  9. Visiting different exhibitions/events like the London Design Festival, National History of Museum, Cartoon Museum, etc. taught me to explore the London city on my own and made me realize that the world is bigger than you think with an abundance of knowledge and creativity.

  10. Learning to adopt the working culture over here in the UK and trying to gain knowledge of the industry in different sectors of the International market. Finding part-time jobs also has its little different way and in that communication and networking skills plays the major role along with your talents.


Conclusion:

A long way to go and to learn so many things with lots of failures and at last success. I am really glad that the course I have chosen is right in the center of business and creativity which will help me to develop my career on the right track. Lastly, a strong mindset and passion to achieve wonders is still helping me to overcome my fears and challenges. This journey is definitely difficult but not impossible and I am open to fall, rise, and shine. Where there’s a will there’s away!

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page