top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekanisha jhaveri

International Pedagogy

Our first part of research and communication work contributed to knowing each other and from where they belong. International Pedagogy fulfilled the requirements of knowing our new cohort/peers better. It was fascinating to learn about so many different places and cultures.


Brief:

You are required to present members of your new cohort with succinct information to teach them what 'you' think they need to know about where you are from. It should be seen personally, NOT a tourist's perspective. Your outcome could include keywords and phrases, cultural considerations, etiquette, and how to be streetwise. Think of the 'place' you come from and not necessarily the country.


Approach:

  1. Brainstorming - For this brief, at first, I used the method of brainstorming. By taking advantage of this brainstorming session, I specifically allowed myself to pen down all the things my peers need to know about where I am from. I listed out all the activities I have indulged in Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

  2. Mind Mapping - After conducting the brainstorming session with myself, I started mind-mapping things that were interrelated. I utilised mind-mapping to make the information compact and figure out the different categories for my presentation.

  3. Strategising the content - After having a pool of information that I wanted to present, strategising the content helped me synchronise the information one after the other with the solution of focusing on the communication in my International Pedagogy presentation.

  4. Cabinets of Curiosities - While in the workshop with Kathleen Hinwood and Laura Holme on the "Cabinets of Curiosities and Wunderkammer", I observed two things that I need to work upon at this stage: 1) Resolved the confusion of focusing on a lot of information, Kathleen helped me in getting the direction of concentrating on the part which is most vital for me that my cohort should know. 2) In discussion, my peers had a lot of assumptions and myths about the place where I belong, so I decided to show that part in connection with me on the positive aspect.

  5. Research - As this subject of the presentation was more of presenting your personalised perspective from where you belong and not the tourist's perspective, I re-researched the facts I already knew. My International Pedagogy covered the main aspects of Ahmedabad, Gujarat and how I built myself with it: Highlighting Communication (Gujarati language), Welcoming nature of Ahmedabad folks - took 'Chabutro' as a metaphor, Ahmedabad as a World Heritage Site, Enthusiastic Influence - Navratri festival in connection to my dance journey, Playful Influence - Sports in reference to my journey, Design Influence - Establishment of first design institute in India and concerning my journey, and Textile & Handicrafts of Ahmedabad, Gujarat. I have mentioned all the reference links in my presentation where I have articulated all my secondary and observational research.

  6. Visual Representation - To represent my culture and interest in one way, I decided to create a digital illustration that depicts my International Pedagogy. My visual outcome consists of horse, bandhani pattern and personalising with the names in the Gujarati language.

  7. Interactive Element - At the end of the presentation, I made them listen to the very famous Bollywood song of Garba, "Dholi taro Dhol Baaje…" from the movie Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VBAGMkTjTs

Reflective Analysis & Learnings:

  1. The whole experience of International Pedagogy was useful in understanding and knowing about different places/cultures through the personal perspective of the presenter.

  2. It has broadened my horizon from the smallest things about how various people view their life in several ways.

  3. This task helped me understand that any brand/company needs a good insight into consumer surveys to analyse different mindsets and interests considering their upbringing in certain places/localities.

  4. Looking at the others work and their presentations about different places, cultures, concepts, etc. helped me gain a lot of interesting, knowledgeable facts.

  5. The methods used by my peers/cohort to present their work in this task was very quirky, like creating a storyline, animation, innovative videos, sketches/collages, etc, which made the whole session creatively inspiring.

  6. Not just the presentations, but many of them prepared handmade food items like crepes, bubble tea, sambar-rice, etc, to depict from where they belong. I think food and smell plays a significant role in making your brand memorable.

  7. In International Pedagogy, I took more than 10 minutes for my presentation. I got the feedback to keep it in time and not extend it. I will indeed consider this feedback with importance and will improve.

  8. Thanks to one of my peers named Chien-Chih Huang, who gave me the personal feedback through email - "Briefing focuses on her personal growth experience and introduces things that are important to her. The part that I particularly remember is the dance experience and the enthusiasm she showed in the introduction. After the report, I still remember the teacher mentioned the conflict between traditional dance and modern dance. She said, "it should be fusion rather than conflict. I am very happy to be able to learn two different dances and gain a lot from both." This answer is also worth thinking about."

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page